Richmond Domestic Violence Attorneys
Seek Legal Advocacy from a Criminal Defense Lawyer that Can Help
Domestic violence occurs when a member of the household commits violent
acts against another housemate. The
violent crime can be directed at a spouse, child, friend, or any other person living
in the house. This is a serious offense. If accused, be aware that a conviction
could impact many aspects of your life. This is why it is imperative you retain a
Richmond criminal defense attorney who can help you right away.
Domestic violence can occur in many forms of abuse:
Emotional abuse involves yelling, insulting, and generally making the victim lose self-worth
and experience low self-esteem.
Sexual abuse occurs when the victim is forced to have sex against their will.
Physical abuse involves violent acts like slapping, shoving, or punching the victim.
Examining the Penalties Associated with Domestic Violence
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, domestic violence may be charged as a
wide range of offenses.
Assault and battery may be charged. If convicted and this is the first offense, the offender
would be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor which could mean confinement
for up to one year, a $2,500.00 fine, or both. Probation and treatment
programs may also be assigned.
If, however, this were the accused individual's third assault and battery
offense within a 20-year period, it would then be a Class 6 felony. This
is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines. You can take action
to protect your future by speaking with the experienced Richmond criminal
defense lawyers at Carlson & Collier.
Another charge associated with domestic violence is rape, which may keep
the defendant imprisoned for life.
Stalking is another, and — if a first-time offense — is classified
as a Class 1 misdemeanor. At this time, a protective order would most
likely be put in place. Violations of the order could lead to a felony
Ensure Your Rights are Protected: Speak with Carlson & Collier
Domestic violence is a serious crime. The most serious charges may land
you imprisoned for life. You could also be on probation, have to take
classes for domestic violence, and pay steep fines. These penalties are
detailed under the following Code of Virginia sections: 18.2-57.2, 18.2-60.3
Don't let a false charge destroy your future; speak with a criminal
defense lawyer in Richmond today.
Call for a
free phone consultation