Driving After Forfeiture of a Driver's License
Call Our Richmond Traffic Ticket Lawyers
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, driving after forfeiture of your driver's
license during the time in which driving is not allowed is illegal. Even
if a restricted license was given, you must follow the regulations set forth.
This charge occurs when a driver:
- Refuses to take a chemical blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test
- Has prior convictions for driving under the influence (DUI)
- Is involved in cases of DUI-related offenses involving a vehicle, including
involuntary manslaughter and maiming
Forfeiture of License & DUI
Driving under the influence with an invalid driver's license presents an even more intense case.
When someone is caught driving after forfeiting their license and he or
she is found to have a blood alcohol content of 0.02% or more, if convicted
that individual is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This will be punishable
by up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500.00 fine.
If you are convicted for violating this section for a third time within
10 years, however, this is a Class 6 felony and is punishable by 1 to
5 years' incarceration and a fine of up to $2,500.00, either or both.
Also, if a certified ignition interlock system was court ordered and the
person convicted drives a car that does not have such a device installed,
this is a Class 1 misdemeanor for a first offense. Your freedom and your
driving privileges will both be endangered.
Seek Reliable Litigation from a Richmond Criminal Lawyer
If charged with driving after forfeiture of a driver's license, you
will need to hire an experienced
Richmond traffic ticket attorney as soon as possible. Our team at Carlson & Collier can help. We have
more than 60 Years of combined experience and have handled thousands of
cases. We are ready to stand with you!
A DUI is 6 points on your driving record. Driving after forfeiture of license
is also 6 points. Both stay on your record for 11 years. This would greatly
increase your insurance premium when you are finally able to get your
license back. Learn more about the consequences you face and the parameters
of these laws in the Code Of Virginia § 18.2-272, § 18.2-10,
In order to protect your future, take action today.
Call Carlson & Collier
and request a
free case evaluation with a skilled Richmond criminal defense attorney.