Richmond Aggressive Driving Ticket Attorney
Qualified Representation from Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyers
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, aggressive driving is defined as anyone
driving a vehicle whose behavior is hazardous to others or who has intent
to harass, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person.
There are various offenses that may result in an aggressive driving charge,
such as but not limited to:
- Unnecessarily stopping in a driving lane
- Failure to obey traffic lights or signs
- Failure to yield the right of way
- Failure to drive on the right side of the road
- Following too closely behind another car / tailgating
Virginia Penalties for Aggressive Driving
While aggressive driving is not considered to be as bad as
reckless driving, it is still a Class 2 misdemeanor. This is punishable by up to 6 months
in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00 — either or both. Also, it
will constitute a 4-point violation on your driving record, causing an
increase in your insurance premium.
If intent to injure another person is proved, the charge becomes a Class
1 misdemeanor. These crimes are punishable by up to 12 months in jail
and a fine of up to $2,500.00, either or both. All of these nuances are
detailed in the Code of Virginia Sections 46.2-868.1, 18.2-10, and 18.2-11.
You must contact a
Richmond traffic ticket attorney as quickly as possible for the best chance of a good outcome to your case.
How can a Richmond criminal defense lawyer help me?
An experienced traffic attorney may be able to have the charge decreased
or disappear completely. Call our attorneys at Carlson & Collier.
We have over 60 Years' experience. Our team includes a former lead
counsel for the governor of Virginia as well as a prosecutor. This experience
enables us to protect our clients with nuance and efficiency. We can help.
Contact Carlson & Collier
free case evaluation
with one of our Richmond criminal defense lawyers!