Richmond Rape Defense Attorney
Our Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Help
Rape is a
sexual assault offense involving intercourse that occurs when a person does not have the consent
of the victim. Essentially, this crime can be charged if the sexual assault
happens while the victim is not capable of giving valid consent due to
being incapacitated, whether drugged, drunk, or unconscious.
Usually, rape is carried out using one or more of the following:
- Physical force
- Alcohol, or dugs
- Abuse of authority
If you are faced with a rape charge, speak with a committed and knowledgeable
attorney as soon as possible. At Carlson & Collier, we have more than
60 Years of collective experience. By discussing your case with a
Richmond sex crimes lawyer from our team, you'll go a long way toward protecting your future.
What are the penalties for rape in the state of Virginia?
This is an extremely serious crime and the consequences are severe. If
you are found guilty of rape, you may spend life in prison, but not less
than 5 years behind bars. If the rape occurs while other crimes have taken
place, the jail time will be longer. Also, if the victim is under 13 years
of age and the accused is more than 3 years older than him / her, the
penalty will be more severe. For instance, if malicious wounding occurred
— meaning if the victim was shot, stabbed, or suffered other bodily
harm — the defendant will serve a mandatory 25 years in prison.
Attempted rape is
also a felony. While obviously the actual rape did not occur, the intent was there and
constitutes a crime. This would be a Class 4 felony. Punishment would
be between 2 and 10 years for a first offense and a fine to not exceed
$100,000.00. More information about rape charges and penalties can be
found under in the Code of Virginia Sections 18.2-61, 18.2-51.2, 18.2-67.5,
At Carlson & Collier, we are available to our clients 24/7.
Call our Richmond criminal defense attorneys
now for a