Child Abuse Charges in Richmond
Representation from Seasoned and Skilled Criminal Lawyers
There are several types of child abuse. They fall into the following categories:
Physical abuse occurs when a parent, caretaker, or guardian causes bodily harm to a child.
Punching, slapping, shoving, and beating with an object are all forms
of physical abuse. Burning a child with scalding water, a cigarette, or
matches are also examples of physical abuse. Withholding food and / or
water also falls into this category. Physical abuse is the most obvious
form of child abuse as bruises, burns, or broken bones are visible signs.
Teachers and doctors are trained to recognize and report such crimes.
Child neglect is the failure of a child's caretaker / parent to provide the basic
needs of the child. Examples include not feeding or clothing the child,
leaving the child unattended, or putting him / her in an unsafe environment.
Failing to obtain proper medical care or education for a child are also
signs of neglect.
abuse occurs when a child is regularly mistreated through yelling, humiliation,
threatening, or ignoring the child. It is an attack on the child's
mental health and state of mind. Belittling by making fun of the child
or constant verbal abuse causes a child to withdraw and see himself or
herself through the abuser's eyes. These children often grow up to
be anti-social with deep psychological problems.
abuse is when an adult engages a child in a sexual situation. Sexual abuse can
occur in many forms. Rape and fondling are two common forms. Making a
child watch pornography or participate is another form of sexual abuse.
Sadly, most sexual abuse comes from someone the child knows.
Call our criminal defense attorneys in Richmond for support.
Penalties for Child Abuse in the Commonwealth of Virginia
The effects of child abuse can be serious and usually last a lifetime.
In the laws eyes, violence, crime, and drug abuse often come from children
who were abused. A victim of child abuse is considered more likely to
grow up to be an abuser. Because child abuse is such a serious offense,
the penalties attached to a conviction are equally severe. These crimes
and associated penalties are discussed in the Code of Virginia Sections
18.2-10, 18.2-11, 18.2-370, 18.2-371, and 63.2-1513
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, child abuse or neglect may be a Class
1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine —
either or both. Sexual abuse or severe physical abuse may, however, be
charged as a Class 4 felony. These crimes are punishable by not less than
2 years or more than 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000.00.
If you face criminal accusations, it is important that you contact our
Richmond criminal lawyers at Carlson & Collier soon.
Over 75 Years of Criminal Defense Experience on Your Side
Unfortunately, spouses going through divorce or children upset with their
parents will sometimes make false accusations. This is also a very serious
crime. While the 1st offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor, a second guilty
charge is a Class 6 felony punishable by between one and five years and
a $2,500.00 fine.
Contact Carlson & Collier today to set up a time for your
free phone consultation.