Richmond Habitual Offender Lawyer
Our Criminal Defense Attorney Can Fight for You
The Habitual Offender Act was repealed in the Commonwealth of Virginia
in the year 1999. Prior to this change in the law, if you received any
three of the following within a period of 10 years, you were deemed a
A combination of any of the following 12 minor violations within 10 years
would make you a habitual offender:
Learn more about what our Richmond criminal defense lawyers can do for
you from our
Discuss Your Case with Our Richmond Criminal Attorneys
If caught driving while your driver's license was revoked and no person
or property was endangered, this would result — if convicted first
offense — in a Class 1 misdemeanor. This is punishable by confinement
in jail for up to 12 months with a minimum of 10 days being mandatory.
You could also face a fine to not exceed $2,500.00 — either or both.
If the driver endangered the life, limb, or property of another or does
so due to driving while intoxicated in a first offense, this becomes a
Class 6 felony. Punishments for this crime include one to five years'
imprisonment, with one year being mandatory, and a fine of up to $2,500.00,
either or both. Any second or subsequent charges would result in more
severe sentencing. Learn more in the Code of Virginia Section 46.2-351
through 360, Section 18.2-10, and Section 18.2-11.
Free Phone Consultation When You Call
In certain cases, our experienced
Richmond traffic ticket attorneys at Carlson & Collier may be able to help. There is a possibility that
we may be able to help you have your driver's license reinstated.
Our team includes a former prosecutor and Virginia governor's lead counsel.
Contact Carlson & Collier now for a
free consultation over the phone with a team member.