Driving on a Suspended or Revoked Driver's License
Seek Defense from Richmond Traffic Ticket Lawyer
Every person operating a motorized vehicle or self-propelled machinery
or equipment in this state — mopeds not included — must possess
a valid driver's license. In the Commonwealth of Virginia, it is illegal
to drive on a suspended or revoked license. There are many reasons a license
may be suspended.
Causes of Driver's License Suspension / Revocation
Reasons for driver's license suspension or revocation include but are
not necessarily limited to:
If convicted of driving on a suspended driver's license, this is a
Class 1 misdemeanor. This offense is punishable by up to 12 months in
jail and a fine of up to $2,500.00, either or both. Furthermore, the license
will be suspended for an amount of time equal to the first suspension
or up to 90 days. Learn more in the Code of Virginia Sections 46.2-300,
Hire Experienced Richmond Criminal Defense Attorneys
Hiring an experienced traffic attorney is extremely important if charged
with driving on a suspended driver's license. Our
Richmond traffic ticket attorneys have the work ethic and reputation for success you should be looking for.
This is an important case, and you need competent representation.
Most people depend on driving to get to and from work, buy groceries, attend
appointments, pick up their children from school, maintain their social
lives, and so on. Obviously, points were added to your driving record
when your license was suspended in the first place. Expect another 4 to
6 points if convicted for driving on a suspended license. Imagine the
increase to your insurance premium. An experienced
Richmond criminal defense attorney, like the ones at Carlson & Collier, can help.
Call Carlson & Collier
today to set up a
no-cost phone consultation
with an experienced criminal defense lawyer!