Richmond Accident Ticket Lawyer

Our Criminal Defense Attorneys Provide Counsel for Traffic Violations

In the Commonwealth of Virginia, the driver of any vehicle that is in an accident involving injury or death must immediately stop as close to the scene as possible and offer assistance to the injured. If the driver is unable to render help due to their own injuries they must report the accident as soon as possible.

The driver must provide the following:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Driver's license number
  • Vehicle registration number

We offer free case evaluations! Speak with our Richmond traffic ticket attorneys today.

Hit & Run Cases in Richmond

Failure to do so is a Class 5 felony if injury, death, and / or more than $1,000.00 in damage occur. A Class 5 felony is punishable by 1 to 10 years' incarceration and a $2,500.00 fine, either or both. If the accident results in less than $1,000.00 damage and is not properly reported, this is a Class 1 misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine up to $2,500.00, either or both.

If the driver fails to report the accident, what is a passenger's responsibility?

Any passenger in the vehicle over 16 years of age is required to report the accident if the driver fails to do so. Any damage caused by a driver of a vehicle to an unattended property must be reported within 24 hours. The driver shall make a reasonable effort to locate the owner of the property.

If the driver fails to make an attempt to locate a property owner, any passenger over 16 must report the accident. Failure to comply can result in a Class 6 felony if injury or death occurs, a Class 1 misdemeanor if property damage occurs, or a Class 4 misdemeanor if the damage is less than $250.00. These laws are in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-894 through § 46.2-901d. It is very important to be aware of these rules and to comply with the law if you have been involved in a traffic accident in Virginia.

Aggressive & Knowledgeable Traffic Accident Attorneys

If convicted of one of the above charges, there is a chance that the accused individual's driving privileges may be suspended. Laws can be very confusing. If you have been charged or if you have questions following a traffic accident, make sure that you call an experienced Richmond criminal defense lawyer who understands these laws right away. At Carlson & Collier, we are proud to offer our strategic and committed representation to clients facing tough charges.

Call Carlson & Collier today for your free case evaluation .

Richmond Criminal Defense Lawyer

Office Location:

Carlson & Collier
Richmond Criminal Defense Lawyer
10132 W Broad St,
Glen Allen, VA 23060
Local Phone: 804.270.1400
Directions [+]

Available Day & Evening

804.277.4774

Follow Us On:

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.