Sale or Distribution of a Controlled Substance
Aggressive & Tenacious Drug Crime Defense in Richmond, Virginia
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, it is unlawful to sell or distribute any
controlled substance or even an imitation of a controlled substance. Doing
so may result in severe consequences. You should take action now to contact
our dedicated criminal defense lawyers in Richmond. As a group, our team
has more than 75 Years of experience including prosecutorial work. We
thoroughly understand the justice system and how to protect your rights
and your future at this time.
Read more about the specific charges you could face:
What is a controlled substance?
In 1971, the Controlled Substance Act (CSA) was introduced to address drug
abuse, control, and prevention. All controlled substances are classified
into schedules, with Schedule I and II being considered the drugs most
at risk for abuse. Most Schedule I controlled substances are completely
illegal. They include heroin and LSD. Schedule II drugs are considered
almost as dangerous. They include cocaine and methamphetamines. If you
are caught selling or distributing a Schedule I or II drug, you could
face between 5 and 40 years in prison and fines totaling up to $500,000.
This is just for a first offense. While marijuana is classified as a Schedule
I controlled substance it does have its own guidelines. If you are caught
selling or distributing 5 pounds or more you could serve 30 years'
incarceration. That is why it is so crucial that you hire a Richmond criminal
attorney who can advocate for your case.
Penalties for a First or Repeat Drug Offense
Penalties are very harsh. Obviously, the state of Virginia wants to put
an end to the violence, abuse, and even deaths associated with dangerous
drugs. By making the punishment for selling and distributing drugs so
severe, the government hopes to keep dealers off the streets and users
from obtaining dangerous drugs.
While selling or distributing controlled substances is illegal, additional
factors can affect your case:
- The type of drug involved
- The amount with which you are caught
- Any prior criminal record
Second and third convictions for selling and distributing Schedule I or
II controlled substances can result in life imprisonment and fines up
to $1,000,000. More information about these charges and penalties can
be found in the Code of Virginia §18.2-247 and §18.2-248.
Free Telephone Review with Our Winning Drug Crime Defense Attorneys
If you have been charged with sale or distribution of any controlled substance,
call an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately! Your freedom
is on the line. Without a strong advocate in your corner, you could face
a lifetime of consequences. Get in touch with Carlson & Collier today
for a more positive future.
Call our office and schedule a
free case evaluation now.